July 18, 2023

Congratulations to the Detroit Section 2023 - 2024 Scholarship Winners:

This year the AWS Detroit Section has awarded **33** welding scholarships totaling **\$64,000**. These scholarships are made available to Michigan residents and/or students enrolled in a welding or welding related programs at a college or university in the State of Michigan, and the following counties in the province of Ontario; Essex, Chatham-Kent, and Sarnia-Lambton. The candidates all submitted an application, including transcripts of their academic achievement, a brief letter about their background, their goals and ambitions, and any additional factors that would help the Section Scholarship Committee determine eligibility for an award.

The 33 recipients of the 2023 – 2024 Scholarships will be attending

- Ferris State University
- Monroe County Community College
- Oakland Community College
- Schoolcraft Community College

- St. Clair County Community College
- University of Michigan Dearborn
- Wayne State University

The scholarship recipients are all invited to attend our September Technical Meeting as a guest of the Detroit Section so that they may receive recognition of these awards (an RSVP is requested).

2023 - 2024 American Welding Society-Detroit Section Scholarship Winners

AWS-Detroit Section, District 11 Fred Ellicott Scholarship for Arc Welding

Anthony Reszke, Ferris State University

AWS-Detroit Section, District 11 Dietrich Roth Scholarship for Resistance Welding

Ian McArthur, Ferris State University

The Amos and Marilyn Winsand Scholarship, funded by the AWS Foundation

Michael Garzelloni, Wayne State University

The Robert P. and Mardell D. Wilcox Scholarship, funded by the AWS Foundation

Cameron Scharboneau, Wayne State University

The Mardell D. Wilcox Scholarship, funded by the AWS Foundation

Gabrielle Lulis, St. Clair County Community College

The Robert L. Wilcox Scholarship

Jordan Martz, University of Michigan-Dearborn

The James W. Mitchell Scholarship

Collin Pratt, Ferris State University

AWS-Detroit Section Awardees

Sfaa Alaboody - Schoolcraft College Gage Davis - Ferris State University Kyle Drouillard - Ferris State University Jessica Duff - Ferris State University Luke Fountain - Ferris State University Connor Gibbs - Ferris State University Sophia Gugel - Oakland Community College Victoria Hall - Ferris State University Forrest Hamilton - Ferris State University

Christian Hutnik - Ferris State University

Ryan Konieczny - Ferris State University
Cody Langlois - Ferris State University
Seth LeFevre - Ferris State University
Brendan LeTissier - Ferris State University
Travis Lindquist - Monroe County Community College
Anthony Lizzio - Ferris State University
Gabrielle Lulis - St Clair County Community College
Devon Macdonald - Ferris State University
Abigail Markel - Ferris State University
Ian McArthur - Ferris State University



Logan Pethers - Ferris State University Anthony Proffer - Ferris State University Caleb Reimer - Ferris State University Cole Rickert - Ferris State University Cameron Scharboneau - Wayne State University Trevor Townson - Ferris State University Ethan Tupper - Ferris State University Lance Wheeler - Ferris State University Zackary Wright - Ferris State University Madison Wutke - Wayne State University

Congratulations to all awardees! The scholarship process for the 2024-2025 school year will begin in December 2023.

Donald F. Maatz, Jr., Section Scholarship Chairman

Darret Ant.