The American Welding Society Foundation awards over $1.5 million annually for education and training in welding and related fields!

Students in the Eastern Iowa Section may be eligible for the following scholarships:

National, District, and Section Scholarships – Deadline March 1st for the following fall term

 National Scholarships
For students pursuing a specific degree at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. Scholarships range from $2,000 – $6,000+.

 District Scholarships
A minimum of $10,000 is available in each of AWS’s 22 Districts for students pursuing a degree or certificate in a welding or welding-related program. Scholarships typically range from $1,000 to $2,500+.

District Named Scholarships

Karl Fogleman – District 16 Scholarship

This scholarship was named for Karl Fogleman District 16 Director on February 3, 2018

  • This Scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a career in welding or welding related courses

  • Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma or GED.

  • Proof of financial need is required

  • Applicant must be a US Citizen

  • Applicant must reside in District 16

  • Preference will be given to an AWS Member

Welder Training Scholarship
For students seeking welder training in a certificate program less than two years in length through a trade school, community college, or other facility providing welder training. Applications are accepted January-November and selections are made on a rolling basis until the District awards the designated funds for the year.

                              Apply for AWS Foundation Scholarships at