The American Welding Society Foundation awards over $2 million annually for education and training in welding and related fields!

Students in the Nebraska Section may be eligible for the following scholarships:

National, District, and Section Scholarships – Deadline March 1st for the following fall term

 National Scholarships
For students pursuing a specific degree at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. Scholarships range from $3,000 – $5,000+.

 District Scholarships
A minimum of $15,000 is available in each of AWS’s 22 Districts for students pursuing a degree or certificate in a welding or welding-related program. Scholarships typically range from $1,000 to $2,500+.

Section and District Named Scholarships

Karl Fogleman – District 16 Scholarship

This scholarship was named for Karl Fogleman District 16 Director on February 3, 2018

  • This Scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a career in welding or welding related courses
  • Applicant must have a minimum high school diploma or GED.
  • Proof of financial need is required
  • Applicant must be a US Citizen
  • Applicant must reside in District 16
  • Preference will be given to an AWS Member

Central Nebraska Section Scholarship – District 16

Introduction –  The Scholarship is to provide financial assistance to those individuals attending an accredited Technical College, Community College, or University with an emphasis on Welding and Cutting applications or studies.


  • This Scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a career in Welding.
  • Applicant must be a minimum age of 17 years of age.
  • Applicant must be a high school graduate of have a GED.
  • Applicant must have a minimum GPA of 2.5.
  • Financial need is not required.
  • Applicant must reside in the Nebraska/Southeast Nebraska area.
  • Applicant will complete a personal statement, which includes essays on background information, career objectives, and any prior experience with welding.
  • Applicant must show an emphasis on Welding in their course work.

Monty Rodgers – Nebraska Section Scholarship

Introduction – This scholarship is intended to assist an individual from Section 81 to pursue a career in welding. It may be used at an institution of choice towards a welding certificate or degree.

Purpose – This scholarship was created by the Nebraska Section 81 to honor Monty Rodgers for his dedication to furthering welding education.


  • Applicant must have a 2.5 overall grade point average.
  • Applicant must provide a letter indicating how they will use their welding education.
  • Applicant must be enrolled full time.
  • Proof of financial need is required.
  • Applicant must be a citizen of the US and reside in Nebraska or Iowa within Section 81.
  • Applicants may reapply, however persons who have received this award may reapply and may be granted the award for a maximum of two years.

Recipient will be selected by a Committee of the Nebraska Section.

Rex Stacey Memorial Scholarship

To apply or for more information please contact:

Metropolitan Community College Foundation
Attn: Jacqueline Almquist, Ph.D.
[email protected]
P.O. Box 3777
Omaha Nebraska, 68103-0777

Welder Training Scholarship
For students seeking welder training in a certificate program less than two years in length through a trade school, community college, or other facility providing welder training. Each District has a minimum of 25 – $1,000 scholarships to award. Applications are accepted January-November and selections are made on a rolling basis until the District awards the designated funds for the year.

                              Apply for AWS Foundation Scholarships at