The American Welding Society Foundation awards over $2 million annually for education and training in welding and related fields!

Students in the Saginaw Valley Section may be eligible for the following scholarships:

National, District, and Section Scholarships – Deadline March 1st for the following fall term

National Scholarships
For students pursuing a specific degree at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. Scholarships range from $3,000 – $5,000+.

District Scholarships
A minimum of $15,000 is available in each of AWS’s 22 Districts for students pursuing a degree or certificate in a welding or welding-related program. Scholarships typically range from $1,000 to $2,500+.

Section and District Named Scholarships

AWS Saginaw Valley Section Scholarship

  • Scholarship Requirements:
    Applicant’s permanent address must be within the boundaries of the Saginaw Valley Section.
    Applicant must attend a post-secondary accredited college or university within District 11.
    Applicant’s field of study has to be in an accredited welding program (Welding Technology, Welding Engineering).
    Preference will be given to first year students.

Detroit Ellicott/Arc Welding – District 11 Scholarship

Detroit Roth/Resistance Welding – District 11 Scholarship

Welder Training Scholarship
For students seeking welder training in a certificate program less than two years in length through a trade school, community college, or other facility providing welder training. Each District has a minimum of 25 – $1,000 scholarships to award.

Applications are accepted January-November and selections are made on a rolling basis until the District awards the designated funds for the year.

Apply for AWS Foundation Scholarships at